

For immediate release September 30, 2015 Contact: Ken Blackstone, SCCOE (408) 453-6514

2015 Teachers of the Year and STEM Teaching Award winners to be honored tomorrow

SAN JOSE, CA – The Santa Clara County Office of Education is gearing up to celebrate Santa Clara County's 2015 Teachers of the Year, along with the recipients of the 2015 Texas Instruments STEM Teaching Awards. These accomplished educators will be recognized at the 46th annual <u>Teacher Recognition Celebration</u> on Thursday, Oct. 1, at the Heritage Theatre in Campbell.

Presented by the Santa Clara County Office of Education, the recognition ceremony is the oldest and largest of its kind in California. The honorees:

Name	School District	School
Hushi Vang Natividad	Alum Rock Union School District	Russo/McEntee Academy
Jan Carlson-Williams	Berryessa Union School District	Piedmont Middle School
Eileen Beckley	Cambrian School District	Price Middle School
Birgit Bonham	Campbell Union High School District	Prospect High School
Stacey McGuffin	Campbell Union School District	Rolling Hills Middle School
Rusila Bobadilla Racinez	County-authorized charter school	Sunrise Middle School
Rasa Radavicius	County Office of Education	Parkway State Preschool
Erin H. Lindsey	Cupertino Union School District	Lawson Middle School
Coy Archie Garrett	East Side Union High School District	Yerba Buena High School
William Laraway	Evergreen School District	Silver Oak Elementary School

Lisa Kathryn Pitino	Franklin-McKinley School District	Shirakawa School
Susan Rocha	Fremont Union High School District	Cupertino High School
Janet Londgren	Gilroy Unified School District	Antonio Del Buono Elementary School
A. Wayne Thompson	Loma Prieta Joint Union School District	C.T. English Middle School
Samantha Nguyen	Los Altos School District	Almond School
Elizabeth Faison Sharkey	Los Gatos Union School District	Raymond J. Fisher Middle School
Stephanie Bulaich	Los Gatos-Saratoga Joint Union School District	Los Gatos High School
Sadie M Ruiz	Luther Burbank School District	Luther Burbank School
Sheila Sanford	Metropolitan Education District	Silicon Valley Career Technical Education
Austa L. Falconer	Milpitas Unified School District	Marshall Pomeroy Elementary School
Melissa Capurro	Moreland School District	Easterbrook Discovery School
Lori Ross	Morgan Hill Unified School District	Los Paseos Elementary School
Evan Bayless	Mount Pleasant School District	Valle Vista Elementary School
Charlotte Christensen	Mountain View Whisman School District	Huff School
Leo Florendo	Mountain View-Los Altos Union High School District	Freestyle Academy of Communication Arts and Technology
Linda Carol Grilli	Oak Grove School District	Oak Ridge Elementary School
Mr. Jelani Canser	San Jose Unified School District	Burnett Middle School
Paul Larson	Santa Clara Unified School District	Wilcox High School
Christie Nielsen	Saratoga Union School District	Argonaut Elementary School
Rebecca Hansen	Sunnyvale School District	Bishop Elementary School

The 2015 Texas Instruments STEM Teaching Award Winners, who receive cash awards of \$1,000 each:

Name	School District	School
Marita Sablan Beard	Campbell Union High School District	Leigh High School
Elaine Carne	Gilroy Unified School District	Dr. TJ Owens Gilroy Early College Academy
Saul Hernandez- Morales	San Jose Unified School District	Pioneer High School
Ly Nguyen	Mountain View-Los Altos Union High School District	Mountain View High School
Luis Ruelas	County-authorized charter school	Downtown College Prep Alum Rock
Kamala Wood	Gilroy Unified School District	Dr. TJ Owens Gilroy Early College Academy

This year the SCCOE has also submitted three nominees to compete the California Department of Education's statewide Teacher of the Year competition – one for every 5,000 teachers working in the region. In addition to county and district nomination requirements, these teachers must have served in the classroom for at least 8 years; provide multiple recommendations from colleagues, supervisors or parents; and complete an exhaustive reflection and portfolio process to even be considered for this honor.

This year's state-level nominees are:

- Coy Archie Garrett; Yerba Buena High School
- Susan Rocha; Cupertino High School
- Evan Bayless; Valle Vista Elementary

The annual Teacher Recognition Celebration is co-sponsored by Texas Instruments and the Santa Clara County Federal Credit Union, with support from the San Jose Mercury News.

Visit the Teacher Recognition Celebration <u>website</u> to learn more about the event's history, view videos and photographs of previous ceremonies, and get to know past teacher honorees.

