For immediate release June 23, 2016

## 2016 Teachers of the Year and STEM Teaching Award Winners named;

Contact: Ken Blackstone

(408) 453-6662

**SAN JOSE, CA** – The Santa Clara County Office of Education (SCCOE) is proud to reveal Santa Clara County's 2016 Teachers of the Year, along with the recipients of the 2016 Texas Instruments STEM Teaching Awards.

SCCOE continues to highlight last year's winners in PSA series

The following accomplished educators will be recognized at the 47<sup>th</sup> annual Teacher Recognition Celebration presented by the SCCOE on Thursday, Sept. 29 at the Heritage Theatre in Campbell:

Name	School District	School
Guadalupe M. Cruz	Alum Rock Union Elementary	San Antonio Elementary
	School District	School
Theresa Bernal	Berryessa Union School	Summerdale Elementary
	District	School
Sarah Payne	Cambrian School District	Bagby Elementary School
Laura S. Hallinan	Campbell Union High School	Del Mar High School
	District	
Anupama Gupta	Campbell Union School	Blackford Elementary School
	District	
Qinglin Yang	County Charter School	Bullis Charter School
Angelica Guzman	County Office of Education	Hollister Head Start
Barbara Wooley	Cupertino Union School	Hyde Middle School
	District	
Kaitlin C. Jenkins	East Side Union High School	Santa Teresa High School
	District	
Leopoldo Padilla	Evergreen School District	LeyVa Bulldog Tech
Thi Le-Nguyen	Franklin-McKinley School	Jeanne R. Meadows
	District	Elementary School
Debbie Frazier	Fremont Union High School	Monta Vista High School
	District	
Jennifer Spinetti-Lightfoot	Gilroy Unified School District	Gilroy High School
Karren Zook	Loma Prieta Join Union	Loma Prieta Elementary
	School District	School

Vicki Lombardi	Los Altos School District	Santa Rita Elementary School
Gail Ballenger	Los Gatos Union School	Louise Van Meter Elementary
	District	School
Natasha Thompson (Ritchie)	Los Gatos-Saratoga Join	Saratoga High School
	Union High School District	
Laura Boostani	Luther Burbank School	Luther Burbank Elementary
	District	School
P. Cesar Romero	Metropolitan Education	Silicon Valley Adult Education
	District	
Elizabeth Harke	Milpitas Unified School	Milpitas High School
	District	
Jonathan Ling	Moreland School District	Anderson Elementary School
Howard Barnes	Morgan Hill Unified School	Ann Sobrato High School
	District	
Jenessa Locklin	Mount Pleasant School	Robert Sanders Elementary
	District	School
Emily Campion	Mountain View Whisman	Bubb School
	School District	
Nicole Kopels	Mountain View-Los Altos	Mountain View High School
	Union High School District	
Alejandra Flores	Oak Grove School District	Del Roble Elementary School
Steven Gilbert	Orchard School District	Orchard School
Luz Camey De Wierzbicki	San Jose Unified School	Washington Elementary
	District	School
Angie Scott	Santa Clara Unified School	All 26 Santa Clara Unified
	District	sites
Jonathan Jow	Saratoga Union School	Redwood Middle School
	District	
Colleen Lynch Espinoza	Sunnyvale School District	San Miguel Elementary
		School

The 2016 STEM Teaching Award Winners, who will receive cash awards of \$1,000 each:

Name	School District	School
Richard Timpson	Campbell Union School	Campbell Middle School
	District	
Michaela Brant	East Side Union High School	Apollo High School
	District	
Mark St. John	Fremont Union High School	Fremont High School
	District	
Michelle Sugden	Metropolitan Education	Silicon Valley Career
	District	Technical Education
Samantha McMillan	Oak Grove School District	Herman Intermediate School
Jennifer Lee	Santa Clara Unified	49ers STEM Leadership
		Institute

The annual Teacher Recognition Celebration is co-sponsored by Texas Instruments and the Santa Clara County Federal Credit Union, with support from the San Jose Mercury News, Santa Clara County School Boards Association, Sixth District PTA, and other local businesses.

Coinciding with this announcement is the release of <u>volume eight</u> of the <u>Teacher PSA series</u> in which the 2015-16 district teachers of the year from around the county share just a few of their thoughts about why they find teaching so rewarding.

The latest video profiles Jan Carlson-Williams from Piedmont Middle School in Berryessa Union School District, Rasa Radavicius from Parkway State Preschool representing the SCCOE, and Stacey McGuffin from Rolling Hills Middle School in Campbell Union School District. All the teachers featured in this <u>video series</u> were honored during the 2015-16 Teacher Recognition Celebration hosted by the SCCOE last fall.

Visit the Teacher Recognition Celebration <u>website</u> to learn more about the event's history, view videos and photographs of previous ceremonies, and get to know past teacher honorees.

###